help people

Human beings are members of a whole, created from one essence and soul. That is a poem from one of the most famous Persian poets, Sa'adi, which states that all people are created the same, and if one person is in a poor condition, all other humans are in the same condition. That is why we have a solemn obligation to help other people who are in need. The important question that arises regarding this issue is how we should help the people in need. Should we provide them with the food, housing, free medical care; or we should help them to start their own small businesses? I firmly believe helping needy people to start their own business is more beneficial, and it what follows, I will elaborate on the most important reasons.

The first reason is that I deeply believe instead of giving fish to people in need, we have to help them do the fishing on their own. If you provide food and housing for needy people, while they do not have a decent job, they will not be able to start living on their own. I believe there are people who are intelligent and motivated, but they do not have enough money to start their own business. By giving money to these people, they will be able to provide food and housing for their family, and they will help other poor people by providing them job opportunities. There was a man who lived in our neighborhood, and did not have anything in his life. He lived with his wife and his two little girls, in a very old house. The people in the neighborhood decided to give him some money, to help him start his own business. He started by fixing other people's shoes in the street, and after several years, through hard work and perseverance, he now has his own shop, which is small, but has a very good income.

Furthermore, by providing housing, food, or medical care for people in need, we will make them more dependent, and they will lose their will to work and live on their own. I believe they will think that other people will give them something to eat, someplace to spend their night in, eventually. In this way, we will help them survive, but they will be in the same condition for the rest of their lives. Their children will not have a proper education, which is an essential need in today's world, and it is obvious that without having a good education, and without having money to start a career, their children will not be able to have a decent job in the future, and consequently, next generations of poor people will be produced.

To make a long story short, I firmly believe that instead of providing housing, food or medical care for the poor people, we should help them to start their own business. Not only will it help them to survive, it will help them stand on their own feet and prosper in life. I believe by providing food and other similar helps, future generations of poor people will be produced.