If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

If I could change one important thing about my hometown, it would be reducing level of air pollution. In my hometown, Wu-Chi, where is located just near the fossil-fuel power stations and some industrial factories has been constantly influenced by the pollution which are emitted from them. In this case, reducing levels of air pollution such as carbon dioxide, smog, smoke is a necessary and vital task to do to improve people's heath and make our hometown a livable place.

First of all, one of the important reasons to reduce air pollution is that particulate matter which can cause severe negative impact on human body in a long run. There are many papers of researching in the field of how particulate matter affecting human health. Some said fossil fuels such as coal, oil, and petrol can produce some coarse or fine particles which from the fly ash or the condensation of material vaporized during combustion, and when people inhaled those particles, they can cause serious problems such as allergy, lung cancer, and even asthma.

Second, government and corporate should be most responsible for the air pollution because of the policy and their attitude toward underestimating the negative effects from which factories and fossil fuels can damage our environment and leave our descendants to take those bad results. If we don't have healthy body, eventually there will not be any economic benefit from factories and fossil fuels industry. They shall use the alternative ways to make profit instead of using adverse ways to affect environment even though they may cost much more money in the beginning, but in the long run it may not. By doing so, environment can be sustainable so that we really can make the win-win situation between economy and sustainable development.

Third, it is our obligation to ensure that we leave our descendants a livable, air-freshing, and sustainable surrounding so that they will be able to continue their lives in our home town rather than harmed by air pollution. If the air is fresh and environment is great, people may want to move to our town and that will bring us some economic benefits. If we reduce the levels of the air pollution in our hometown, which also means we contribute to make our world a better place.

To sum up, reducing the levels of air pollution in our hometown is definitely the most important and vital thing to do if I have a chance or power to do so. This change not only can ensure our next generation can live a toxic free lives but also can contribute some efforts to the whole environment and make our surrounding a better place.