If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

My hometown is Istanbul, huge and crowded city of Turkey, where traffic problems are genuinely getting worse every year. I would change lots of problems that cause traffic such as lack of metro system, rapid migration, and unplanned construction industries.

To begin with, there are literally very few metro stations and %20 percent of people, who live in the Istanbul, have an opportunity to reach metro system. Hence Metro system is not flexible enough to gain time because people walk too much in the metro. For example, I arranged with my friends to meet in the metro station but we did not exactly define the meeting point. So I tried to find my friend more than 30 minutes in the metro. If metro system expand 3 or 4 times, the traffic that occur in Istanbul would plummet.

Moreover, city is expanding every day without any systematic plans and this expanding creates more roads and vehicles. In planned cities, engineers initially devise roads and old city then they devise provinces however, In Istanbul, we have 10 or 12 quarters where have more than 1 million people. For example, when I was a kid, I used to play soccer in fields. My children don’t have a chance to play soccer in the fields now. So we should prevent new constructions in the city.

Last but not least, Roads do not have proper size for city. They are out of the date and people always park their vehicles to public roads. So it creates traffic through closing roads and polices are not care of this problem because they do as well. In my opinion, fines should be carry out for this problem and people might be afraid about fines.

In conclusion, I don’t deny that there may be other changes which can be well for our city, but taking all factors into careful analyzing, I allege that expanding metro system, stop migration and fixing road problems could figure out traffic problem in the Istanbul