Imagine you could improve the town where you live by changing one important thing about it. Which of the following would you choose to do?

Build additional parks

Construct more libraries

Improve public transportation

Use specific details and examples in your answer.

All of those changes above would definitely be beneficial to my hometown. However, if I really had to choose one, then improving public transportation would be my ultimate choice. I feel this for some reasons that I will delve into in the following essay.

First, improving public transportations enables people in my hometown to travel at ease. Since my hometown is a metropolitan, there are always numerous vehicles driving, causing major congestion on the road every day. Consequently, this issue causes people to arrive late at their workplace or academic institutions. Therefore, by improving public transportation, citizens will divert from using private vehicles to public means of transportations such as buses, helping diminish the number of traffic jams in the city. Without blockage, citizens sitting on buses can travel to their desired destinations smoothly without having to penetrate waves of vehicles.

Second, advanced public transportation can also reduce the air pollution in the city. Private vehicles such as cars or motorcycles exhaust gas containing toxic chemicals into the atmosphere, thereby worsening the quality of air. Since people breathe in the smog from the vehicles, they will be prone to respiratory diseases that can degrade the community’s health as a whole. Improving public transportation can solve this problem owing to the fact that citizens use buses instead of their private vehicles, thereby decreasing the number of cars running on the road. As a result, air pollution can be improved significantly.

Lastly, improving public transportation will bring further convenience to people. This is mainly due to the fact that people do not have to take out their own vehicles, look out for spots to park when they arrive at their locations or buy a new one when it’s stolen. Public transportation will be a decent alternative since there are available drivers that are willing to bring citizens to their destinations on the planned routes and all people need to do is to buy monthly tickets and relax on the bench without worrying about parking issues or having their cars stolen.

In conclusion, enhancing public transportation is my top choice when it comes to improvements that I could add to my hometown since advanced public transportation can help people to reach where they want easily, keep the city air from contamination and give people a sense of convenience.