Imagine you have one week to spend on a vacation in a city you've never been to before. Would you prefer to spend the week participating in scheduled activities such as going on guided tours of the city, or would you prefer to spend the week exploring the city on your own, with no scheduled activities?

If I had been in such a dilemma where I have to choose whether to spend my one week vacation in a new city alone or with the help of guided tours of the city, without any shadow of doubt I would decide to explore a new city on my own due to the following reasons.

The main reason of choosing to explore any new city by my own would be my nature of being a free bird who loves freedom and want to do things according to my own choice because in the case of guided tours, one has to be very restricted to be in a group and see only the places which are popular not the ones which are unexplored. Following the instructions and listening to the big lectures of the tour guides could be very boring and irritating to the person like me who is very relaxed and easy going and not the one who listen to others and do things according to the instructions given by somebody. Having said that, if I explore city by my own choice then I could feel free, more excited, and not to be in hurry to go from one place to another in rush by following tour guides and the tour groups. I can rather be slow, easy going and can travel accordingly. What is more, I can even search the places and visit which are interesting but yet unexplored by many people and there are a lot of such places in every city.

An another factor could be cost, it is needless to say that any tour guides working solely and any tour and travel agencies which provide such tour guides charge a hefty amount of money. And, this is very likely to be a problem for the traveler like me who always tries his best to save money while travelling due to the limited travelling budget.

However, some people might think that there is ease by hiring tour guides to find places easily and for any other things. In contrast, if we are new to place and so not know anything about it we might miss the real fun and essence of the places we will visit alone because tour guides explains the story behind the significance of any historical and religious place. Therefore, tour guided trips are better.

In conclusion, it is evident that travelling alone and exploring any places on one's own could be very nice in terms of making one feel free, exciting and saving money too.