Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 9: Agree or disagree? Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

With the fast development of technology, children are exposed to cutting edge technology which make them spend more time using electric products and playing computer games. Some claims that children nowadays are less creative than they were in the past because of the technology. As far as I am concerned, this opinion is arbitrary and unilateral. Children are more creative and competitive although they don't have enough stage to show their talents. My reasons and examples are given below.

Initially, modern technology allows children to extend their outlook and enrich their professional experience which make them more creative. Children can search everything on line and become an all-rounder even they never see the real thing. For instance, one of my friends is a talented coder. When he was 8 years old, it was his first time to know the computer programming. He just fell in love with it and started learning with C language. There were not even one people around him who occupied as a programmer. So he had to learn by using Google. Thanks to the communities like stack overflow and Github, he became one of the top programmers I have ever seen and the creator of the Bilibili Mac version.

Besides, modern technology make it easier for children to win the competitive edge in the future. As we all know, more technology creates abundant job opportunities and let children who cannot adapt to the traditional jobs have the chance to show their creative. Take Bill Gates as an example. Because of the invention of the computer, he was able to practice programming. If there were not that kind of technology, he would not grasp chances and stand out from the crowd.

Admittedly, I am not denying that technology make children spend a great deal of time using computers and smart phone. Some holds that they won't have chance to communicate with others that may let them become less creative. However, from my point of view, as long as they can balance the time between the technology and reality, there is nothing to worry about. I am sure children have the capability to get things done.

In a nutshell, I totally disagree with the idea that technology makes children less creative. It is not only because children can broaden their horizon and become more professional, but also because they can be more competitive and maybe one days achieve their dreams.