Individuals can do nothing to protect the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environment’s deteriorate now become a more and more serious problem. Some people might complain that the government did not administrate the protection of our environment in a proper way. As for me, I think we can do plenty of things to protect the environment by ourselves.

Individuals can affects other people to protect environment. One person ride bicycle everyday but others still use cars seems useless to protect environment. However, according to a psychology research, people are tending to imitate others when they think others are doing right things. Like if you drop litters to different categories in a proper way, then your aunt sees it, and thinks you are doing right thing to the environment, then she becomes to do this, and she will affects her husband; her friends, etc. Finally, plenty of people can be eco-friendly together. They can use bus together; ride bicycle; use air conditioner in a lower degree, etc. However, not everybody will do protect environment. Maybe they think it is such a trouble, so they will not do this and they will not continue to affect other people, but another experiment shows these people are just few. Fortunately, most people could protect environment.

Furthermore, if people only depend on government to protect our environment, it cannot worth because I think if the government is the leaf of the stem of a tree, then our general public is the roots the government based on common people. Even though a government has made a perfect policy for environment protection but none of the citizens follows it, the policy just a bunch of useless words. After all, I have heard news that a town’s government once made a policy led people protect the water, and prohibited they; especially the manufactory of this town drains sewage to the canals. However, no one followed this policy, every citizen throw litters to the canals, and the manufactories, drains sewage as they did before. As the beginning, the government was try to administrate the citizens and punished them if they obey this policy. But later, because too many people obeyed it, so they gave up. This shows that only masses implement the policy, it can work, so general publics can follow the policy to protect environment.

Anyway, the government and the large companies have the power to force people to follow they policies or rules they made. They can set put a crueler rules to punish people. But, just as the same as the news I mentioned last paragraph. If none of their people follows it, whatever they set up a cruelest rule, they might give up to administrate it finally. Therefore the masses are still significant.

In conclusion, I think individuals can do plenty of things to protect environment not only because the strength of masses is strong but also because individuals can implement the policies. Therefore we should aware to do from ourselves, from the little things around to protect our environment.