Is it better to have a job where you work only three day a week for long hours that to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Since the dawn of civilizations, people have worked at different jobs, and this jobs have played significant role in personal life of people. However, one of the most important milestones of recent decades is the change in people perspective toward life. This change had led to a controversial question regarding works and jobs. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that it is better to work only three days a week for long hours, while others think that it is better to work five days a week for shorter hours. Personally I am more in agreement with the former ones. In the following paragraphs, some conspicuous reasons will cogently substantiate my perspective.

The first noteworthy point regarding the issue is the economic hardships of today life. When someone arrange his week in a way that he needs to work at a job only for three days, he can look for a second job to make life more pleasant for himself. For instance, I work in an office. I try to do my weekly tasks in three days, so in other days of week I have the opportunity to work as a teacher. The salary that I earn from my second job, has make life better for me.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that when people work only three days a week, they have enough free days in each week to assign adequately time to their family and friends. I remember, one of my co-worker who arranged his time at work in a way that he worked only three days a week. In this way, he had enough time to put aside a day in each week to be with his children with no stress from work related tasks. Moreover, he had enough time to assign a day just to himself.

Finally, in addition to what was mentioned above, as recent studies have revealed, people who work fewer days a week are more relaxed. In fact, this study which was conducted in Denmark on one thousand office workers, revealed that roughly 80 percent of people who work 5 days a week have some kind of personality issues, some things like anxiety, and these people periodically use psychologists’ services. On the other hand, the same study shows that this percent is much lower, about 30 percent, among people who work only three days a week.

To make a long story short, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is better to work fewer days for longer hours. However, that was a story in nutshell; actually there are some other reasons and examples, challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that a survey be conducted to find out the exact factors involved in this issue.