it is better for students to understand ideas and concepts than learning facts

In the last three decades, educating children has changed drastically. Some people believe teaching kids facts is crucial since it informs them of the reality of the world; however, others claim that it is better for students to understand ideas and concepts. From a personal perspective, the latter point of view carries more weight given that understanding ideas and concepts could enhance students' brainstorming and information retention. Below I will strive to explain my supporting points in more detail.

The first and foremost point, teaching students ideas and concepts has a positive impact on their brain functions. A vivid example that could be given to shed light on that, students in the Northen American schools who started to understand ideas and concepts have better grades than those who learn facts. Provided that students learn by this approach, they could actively participate in a class rather than passively. TO put it in another way, students could have a chance to integrate information and explore topics instead of learning a specific curriculum; furthermore, it could amplify not only students' imagination but also creativity. Consequently, they could come up with new designs and projects, which have significant benefits on their personality.

Next, coupled with proper brain function, long-term memory is another benefit of understanding ideas and concepts. A survey conducted by Oxford University found that students learn ideas and concepts that could recall information easier than those who learn facts, which increases students' desire to learn and promote potential learning outcomes. In other words, sharing ideas and discussing new concepts accelerate learning and boost retention. Therefore, teaching students ideas and concepts help students to learn quicker.

Taking everything into consideration; without a doubt, understanding ideas and concepts could not only augment students' thinking, but also foster their long-term memory. It is suggested that a school curriculum is redesigned to ensure that this approach is used.