It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

When it comes to the issue the importance of experience, some people believe that the knowledge gained from real practice in more important than that of books. However, others maintain the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the former point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

First and the most important reason is that for learning some knowledge or skills you have to use real practices. I think that a small example can give some light to this issue. If you want to learn to drive, you can go to a library and borrow some books, which have linked with driving. These books assist you to be familiar with traffic rules, traffic signs, or how to handle a car in a certain situation. You should be aware of this point that if you read all of them, you never can be a good driver. For achieve this, you have to drive a car in a real condition, and use the trail and error method for improve your driving shills.

A further point we must consider is that knowledge gained from experience is more effective. As we all know, students always learn plenty of theoretical matter in schools every year, but in a coming year, they usually cannot recall most of them. In developed Western country, for solving this problem schools use new method of teaching that students directly interact with the subject. This causes that they could use all of their senses for learning, and surely; they comprehend better curriculums. Recent researches show that the rate of students’ learning in these countries is at least twice as effective as undeveloped countries. So, the biggest advantage of using experience for learning lies in the fact that helps people to gain deeper understanding of their environment.

Apart from point I made above, experience puts first-hand information at our disposal. It is quite normal that books contain second-hand information, while the scenario is different for experience. I think that there is not a better example that America Space Agency. American's space scientists have abundant information of the mars, which is the fourth planet in the solar system, by sending satellites or robotic probes. Nevertheless, they detect that they should send some astronomers on this plant for gaining first-hand knowledge.

All above evidence supports the undeniable fact that knowledge gained through experience is different, effective, and original. Of course, as an English proverb goes “coin has two sides,” those who take the opposite view are partly reasonable that gaining knowledge from real practice usually is time-consuming. Nonetheless, I think that its benefits outweigh dangers. Last but not least, let us hope people gain the deeper insight that the book and experience supplementary each other.