It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

A movie theater in a neighborhood may be considered as a nuisence to some and great form of pastime for others. To me, if a movie theater is opened in our area it would positively benefit the local people in various ways. Hence, I would support the plan of openning a movie theater in my neighborhood.

First, movies are great form of entertainment. It helps us to fill our leisure with fun and helps us to think outside the realm of mundane. So, the new movie theater would attract the local people and provide them a unique opportunity which was not available to them before. When I was a child, I and my friends were particularly fond of adventure movies. But we did not have any movie theater in our area. As a result, we couldn't watch the latest movies and had to depend on the old VHS tapes. If we had a movie theater in our area, we could have spend our leisure time watching movies and being immersed in the latest and greatest adventures of silver screen. Opening up a new theater in the neighborhood would give that opportunity to the local people.

In addition, movies are not only a form of entertainment but also a medium for learning. As a learning medium, movies are particularly versatile because traditionally we see them as just pastime. We can learn about societies, histories, science and even morality from well made movies. Some movies provoke thoughts about our actions and their consequences. Some movies depict the horror and sufferings of wars. For instance, one of my favorite movies is Saving Private Ryan which is based on war. It shows us that war is not all about glory and we have to pay great price in this situation. So, my neighborhood would benefit greatly from a movie theater as it would enrich our knowledge by showing movies like this. This is one of the main reason for my support to the plan.

Finally, a new movie theater would also help the neighborhood economically. It would attract people from all over the town and thus it will increase the influx of visitors in that particular area. To take advantages of it, small businesses might be set up around the theater by the local people. Also, the movie theater and the businesses will create jobs and help the unemployed to find employment. When I was in high school, I used to seek opportunity to work part time and the movie theater would provide this opportunity. This benefits also provide reasons to support the plan.

A good movie theater with modern amenities and showing well chosen, thought provoking movies is highly beneficial for a community because of the above reasons. That is why, I fully support and would like to see the plan of building a new theater in our neighborhood materialize.