Is it important to do a job that you enjoy or to earn a lot of money?

Money is the most important tool to fulfill human necessities. Without it life would not be very comfortable. Many people can concur with the idea that since we work to earn bread and butter for our family it is good to learn lots of money. As far as I am concerned, doing the job that you don’t enjoy is like marrying to a guy whom you don’t love and you are just becoming his life partner because he is wealthy.

First, starting a job that gives you lots of money but no happiness can seem good in initial stage of your career but in long run it will be a burden. As I described earlier that if you marry a guy just due to his money, you can enjoy the money for some time but later you will realize that its love not the money that is required for the institution called marriage. For instance my friend hated marketing since he was not a people person and never liked talking much but since a MNC was hiring the marketing candidates on a higher package, he joined it. Later on he got frustrated because neither had he had good communication and selling skills nor he enjoyed it. At the end he left this job after one year. So the job you don’t enjoy can give you money for short period only.

Second, when you do a job that you really love it gives you satisfaction along with money. For example from my child hood I had keen interest in social work. After my graduation I was offered a job in NGO. The job was not very good in terms of salary but I joined it since I enjoy working for people and society. It is been nine years my joining the company as associate, now I am the president in the company. I am not only doing the job that gives me pleasure and satisfaction but I am also earning really good. So the job you like gives you happiness, satisfaction and stability.

Last, my father always said to me if you choose the job you enjoy, it will be no longer a job for you. My sister loves mathematics and playing with numbers and big figures is fun for her. She was offered a job in MNC as computer engineer based on his major qualifications but rather than joining that company she chose to do PhD in Statistics where she can continue her love with the numbers. It was initially surprising for us that why she denied the offer because the company was offering a very good package. She explained me that it could have been monotonous to do a job of computer engineer but after doing doctorate in statistics I will join any research organization where I can continue my fun and I will never regret it. So doing the job of interest is like doing a fun activity whole life.

By the way of conclusion I am of opinion that we should chose the job that we enjoy as it gives us happiness, satisfaction, stability and fun. These all are far above the money and most of the precious things in life like peace and smile cannot be bought by money.