It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends are an integral part of one's life. There is a common saying - a friend in need is a friend indeed. Without friends, we cannot accomplish things easily, have fun in life and most importantly, it is not possible to share our bad experiences to get relieved of them. Hence, having friends plays an important part in a person's life journey. But, let us come to the question about the importance of making new friends or keeping our older ones. I personally feel that making new friends is more important in life.

In the first place, we learn a lot of new things from our friends in our life. I we had a limited circle, it would not be possible to explore the plethora of interests. For instance, I have learned swimming from one of my first childhood friends, about 10 years ago. As I grew up, I made other friends in college and at the workplace and from these friends I learned many other activities - playing football, working out, drawing, music and much more. Had I not made other people as my new friends, I would not have learned skills other than swimming. Hence, by having new friends, we can explore new things and find other interests in life, without which life would be dull and unexciting.

Additionally, it is not possible for all the friends to be together throughout their life. Some of them need to commute or travel to other places and this increases the distance and the frequency of communication. As we need some other person to share our current problems or have fun, we are bounded to make new friends. For instance, among my friends, three of them flew to other country and we occasionally connect with each other - due to their different time zones, colleges and various other factors. As they need people to help them at their place, they made new friends. Likewise, I needed new people to share my thoughts, so I made new friends at our workplace. Hence, as it might not be possible for a group of friends to be together all the time, we always need to make new friends.

Moreover, having the same old friends would be boring. For instance, my brother who has the same old 3 friends, from his school days enjoys a little in life when compared to me, who had many friends - around twenty I suppose. While my brother and his friends play the same old video games and sports, I play a lot of new games as I have a larger group of friends. Besides that, if his couple of friends are busy - studying or on a vacation, my brother feels the day as quotidian. However, if five of my friends are on vacation or out of state, as I still have other friends, I never feel bored or feel alone. Thus, making new friends helps us to engage ourselves in exciting activities all the time, which is not possible if there are fewer ones.

In conclusion, although we made many new friends in a later part of our lives, we must not forget our older ones. Recalling all the good olden days spent with our old friends would make me smile and relieve my pressure at work most of the times. Anyway, making new friends helps a person to learn new things and never gives him a feeling of loneliness. As change is an integral part of one's life, we need to make new friends as it is not possible for all the older ones to stay at one place all the time.