It is more important for students to undrestand ideas and concepts than it is to learn facts.

The educational system, trys to teach students as qiockly as possible, and wants to introduce them to a lot of areas of science. They want students to be able to do math, such as multiplication, addition etc. as soon as the student can. In this way, the children that learn quicker are considered to be smarter than other students.

I as a college level student disagree with this method. This method, the way out educational system has been following for years will not have good effects on young minds and will kill the back bone of science which is asking questions. Every great scientist has been eager to learn new things and undrestand natural phenomenon in his or her area of focus.

If a student asks questions in class needs more time to grasp the ideas and concept of the lectures, that should be acceptable in the educational system and by teachers. If a student asks questions, means he or she is intrested in the subject and wants to learn more. The right action would be to teach them the ideas that are going on instead of forcing them to memorise mathematical formulas without any explanation and derivation. If a student learns the basic ideas in a supporting enviorment, he or she might be encouraged to persue learning about that. This is what education should be like, not forcing everyone to learn about math and biology and other subjects. Some students have different interests and they should be allowed to learn what they want to learn.

A student whom has been given education and guided in the direction that he or she seems to like, will feel respected and will not run away from challanges. A new reasech study showed that teachers that use homework as a punishment in schools only make the student to be more at fight with the school and surely such individuals will not try to undrestand the concepts in the homework nor pay attention to their other classes because they feel the same towards all their teachers.

When I was in jonior high school, Iwas not favored by my teachers. For example I would get low marks, not pay attention in class because it would seem pointless to me. Highschool was another story for me, I had a teacher that tried to get us to think and would focus on ideas rather formulas in his class. So I became interested in science and now I am a mathematician.