Many cities suffer from traffic-related problems. What problems does traffic cause in cities and what are the possible solutions?

Nowadays, more jobs and more facilities are available in urban areas. it makes people immigrate to cities and turns the cities as densely populated areas. these densities cause some major traffic problems in such cities. traffic jams have some negative effects on people who are living in those big cities and the environment. so, some solutions should be considered to overcome the problems. In this essay traffic problems and some solutions that could be helpful will be discussed.

In big cities, air pollution or traffic jams are significant problems which are mainly caused by cars and traffic-related problems. Contamination in big cities is an important factor which has increased health issues. Studies have shown that in metropolises, people have struggled with some health disease such as lung cancer and heart attacks more than any other cities. Without a doubt, those kind of problems are mainly related to environmental pollution. For example, in Tehran the capital of Iran, where the population is more than ten billions! people are faced a lot of serious health problems by air pollution. some senior citizens who have a critical respiratory disease in such cities are forced by their families to immigrate to other small cities or even rural areas in order to have longer life. Furthermore, more traffic jams can create stress in people’s lives. people have to wake up early and leave their home two or three hours sooner to go to work because of the rush hours in the morning. As a result, they have less time for sleeping which can make their life stressful. so, traffic not only could damage to the environment but also has a crucial role in people’s lifestyle and their health.

On the other hand, some solutions should be considered to avoid problems. governments and people both should be responsible for these kinds of issues. First of all, governments can enact rules for preventing cars using and encouraging people to use public transportation. For instance, road tax should be increased, and public transport fares should be decreased, they should be as low as possible. Moreover, states can assign more budgets and money to car manufacture for making cars which are environmentally friendly. Electric engine cars can be a good alternative to fossil fuel-based cars which contribute more to air pollution. Secondly, individuals in a society should take care of traffic issue and its problems. it is better that people use their cars in a necessary situation and avoid using in unnecessary situations. some young people prefer to use their cars for hanging on with their friends or get some short distances which cause traffic jams. Instead of using cars for such unnecessary purposes they could use other alternatives such as subway or bicycle which not only is healthier but is also cost-efficient. Reducing the number of vehicles allowed into cities or people’s self-awareness about their roles and responsibilities in a society can decrease the level of air pollution and other related problems dramatically.

In conclusion, living in big cities are stressful, and traffic jam is a big problem, but there are some solutions to overcome. problems like air pollution and traffic jams are undeniable is such cities however governments and people might manage their society in order to have less traffic.