Most advertisers make products seem much better than they really are.

With the genesis of modern technology, advertisements play a pivotal role in familiarity of general public with the products of companies all over the world. Now, the question is how much an advertisements show the reality of the products. Some people opine that advertisements are accurate description of the products. It is incredible that such an attitude exists in this day and age. As far as I am concern, I have a penchant for the opinion that in advertisements all features of products, approximately most of which are not positive, present. This view holds true in many reasons, most significant of which will be aptly fleshed out in the following paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason is the number of companies, which produce products around the world, have increased with high rate over time; therefore, consumers face a great diversity of brands to buy such products as food, clothes, and car. Hence, there are heavy competition among companies to consolidate their hold on the market. Companies are trend toward publishing advertisements which persuade people to purchase their products at the expense of deceiving consumers. For example, in an interview with managers of several companies which produce different types of a same good, all of whom claimed that they present best quality; on the contrary, some of their products turned out harmful for health.

The other thing that strikes me is that not only have the number of companies increased, but also companies use ambiguous phrases in their advertisements. As a matter of fact, they obliterate negative aspects of their products such as how much they are durable, how quality and efficiency of their products is, or what effects they have on human body to raise their sales. As an illustration of this, consider the following example. In an advertisement on TV a car company informed viewers only about advantage of its product, and they mentioned several times “you can drive with this car in high speed”, but they didn’t provide any information concerning its remarkable defects such as high fuel consumption. In fact, companies tend to exaggerate the high qualities of their products or to eliminate low qualities of them.

To sum up, it is my personal conviction that nowadays we have to be more careful about advertisements due to the fact that there exists high competition among companies to achieve maximum profit; furthermore, they inform people inaccurately about their products. Paying great attention to the experiences of other consumers can be of great help for many of us to have a good choice.