The most important thing the government should do to improve health care is to clean the environment

With the gradually raised awareness of health, how to improve health care has become an issue of public concern and interest. Many scientists and environmentalists have fully realized the negative impact of environmental deterioration on the public health and propose that the most important thing for government to improve health care is to clean the environment. However, in my eyes, the above viewpoint has oversimplified the complicated situation.

Indeed, a clean environment plays an important role in improving health care, because various environmental pollutions have posed a threat to the public health. To illustrate, the haze occurring in large cities of China has made thousands of people fall victims to respiratory diseases. However, it is a piece of overemphasis to claim that cleaning the environment is the most important way for government to improve health care, because there are other two ways which are equally important.

First of all, developing medical technology is another effective way to improve health care. Given the indisputable fact that there remain many incurable diseases such as cancer and AIDS across the globe, the appropriate technology of treatment and therapy is in great need. As a result, government is supposed to assume the responsibility of making progress in medical techniques, for the sake of curing the serious diseases and thus prolonging the life expectancy. The elemination of SARS in the year of 2003 can be a good case in point. Upon the outbreak of SARS, most cities and provinces in China are affected. Immediately, the government not only assembled a group of medical professionals and excellent experts, but also allocated massive investment in the medical research for vaccine. Unexpectedly, the emergency was perfectly addressed and the same is true of curing other diseases.

Besides that, government should place emphasis on improving the sports infrastructure. As is common sense, governmental support for public sports facilities can create a place for the average people to work out regularly. Obviously, the more exercise people engage in, the stronger their immune system will become. The sound immune system can serve as a shield to resist various diseases, which finally lead to the better health of the public. Take my own experience as an example. In my community, the sports facilities contain nothing but a track in disrepair and a swing for kids. In this case, the residents have nowhere to do sports even though they may be willing to. However, if the local government could invest a sum of money to build new playgrounds and establish Pingpang tables, I bet lots of people will become interested in exercising, thus becoming more physically healthy.

Fatoring what has been discussed above in, we can draw the conclusion that it is an exaggeration to say that the most important thing for government to improve health care is to clean the environment. I firmly recommend that government should attach equal importance to the above three measures in order to improve health care.