Neighbours are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what are the qualities of good neighbour? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Neighbours are an essential part of social human behaviour. These are the people which do not necessarily be a part of the family but function similar to those. They form an important part of society. There is no exact definition for good neighbours but the characteristics that emerge from their overall behaviour indicate as how they can be categorised.

Generally, good neighbours can be considered those who have decent social interactions with the people around them,i.e, how do they behave with their close ones or their surrounding people. Remaining aloof from the society can be considered as anti-social. And, hence, it creates a rift between them and society.

Then, neighbours who are quite helpful with the people around them in some frivolous situation or even a grave one can be considered to be good. The sense of humanity is necessary to show sympathy towards others. And that’s what makes or breaks the society. This is a characteristic which has sustained since the inception of human species to this date. And that defines humans as of how we are today. Even the herd of animals come together if it senses any kind of danger to any of its members from its predators.

Further, the neighbour should also maintain a certain amount of distance and value our privacy. They should be less or no meddlesome. This creates a balance in the relationship with the neighbours. If any of the neighbours are too meddlesome, we may feel irritated by their behaviour. That may even create tensions amongst us. And, this may ultimately lead to avoidance of such people because everyone loves their own time and may wish to spend it according to their will.For example, there is a certain private family function being arranged at your home and you have just invited your near and dear ones for the function. If there is any kind of interference from the neighbours at this point, you will want to get rid of them and even create misunderstandings. Such instance will create a bad impression of the neighbours.

These are some of the points which I personally expect from a good neighbour. These opinions may vary from people and the perception of ‘good neighbour’ varies from person to person.