Nowadays, food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Imagine what fun it would be if one could have an American breakfast, a Chinese lunch, and an Indian dinner! And if this could be supplemented with Swiss chocolates, Spanish snacks, Italian delicacies... mmm... it would be a gourmet's paradise! Modern life has drastically changed food patterns. These days preparation of food has become easier and faster due to the new gadgets as well as availability of pre-cooked foodstuff. This change has improved the way people live as it has helped to save time as well as enhanced the quality of food.

Time is at a premium in the modern way of living. With both spouses working, there is little time left for elaborate cooking on a daily basis. Pre-cooked foods that need a minimum of heating/cooking are a great convenience. Time saved in the kitchen can be used for children, other household chores, entertainment, etc.

Packaged food has to adhere to strict norms of hygiene and has to get an approval from a government/private organization. It has to display its contents that would help a consumer to choose whether he wants food with protein/carbohydrate/fats content. The calorie content would also help him decide which food is suitable to his family . Food is a source of pleasure as well as a basic requirements, so a balanced diet is essential for life. Good quality food will help all of us in maintaining excellent health. Packaged and pre-cooked food also gives us a wide choice of cuisines so without having to spend much time in learning to cook them.

With new technology the cooking and preserving of food has become easier and faster. Various gadgets like the microwave oven and the food processor, which simplified and facilitated the process of cooking. Deep freezers and refrigerators help to preserve food for long periods, so a variety is always available at one's fingertips. A visit to a well-stocked, well-displayed food store is both a visual and gastronomical delight.

Modern technology and methods of cooking have improved the quality of life. It helped save time, improved health and hygiene, provided great variety that is always available. This can be seen as a minor revolution, which is a boon for gourmands and gourmets. So now one can eat to live as well as live to eat.