People do many different things to stay healthy. What do you do for good health?

Staying healthy is one of the most effective ways to ensure a long and happy life. Personally, I do many things in order to have a healthy lifestyle, but the most important one is maintaining a balanced and nutritious diet. There are two reasons why I believe healthy diet is the most critical aspect of healthy life, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, eating healthy foods prevents obesity, which is the cause of many serious chronic deceases. Obesity is debilitating all by itself, but it also causes people to suffer from many other problems including diabetes, arthritis, and heart decease. It is important to be aware of this connection when we choose what to eat. My older brother is a compelling example of this. When he entered college, he started to gain weigh due to his unhealthy diet containing pizzas, fatty snacks, and other junk foods. After he graduated college, he was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. Not only did this decease have detrimental effects on his body, but also it results in depression and low self-esteem.

Moreover, a healthy and well-balanced diet provides enough energy. It is no secret that people who lack certain vitamins and nutrients do not have the energy necessary to complete even simple tasks. I recall when I was a freshman in college, I often skipped meals because I was busy studying. As a result of not eating nutritious and proper meals, I started to suffer from fatigue and lethargy, which negatively affected my grades. Later, I decided to develop healthy eating habits and start a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and unsaturated fats; consequently, my overall health improved significantly. This helped me to have better performance at my classes.

In conclusion, the most significant thing I do in order to stay healthy is maintaining a healthy and nutritious diet. This is because a well-balanced diet prevents obesity and related deceases. Also, it gives me enough energy to pursue my academic goals.