Plants can provide food, clothing, shelter or medicine. What is one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country?

Upon the question what is one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country, different people have different opinions based on their cultures, nationalities, etc. From my point of view, there are various plants in Iran and each one has its unique importance. But I would like to choose rice and in the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, our main food consists of meat and rice. We eat rice for lunch and dinner because it has essential nutrients such as minerals, fatty acids, proteins and so forth. According to the latest researches which were published in well-known journals, rice has all essential amino acids. So that people who consume it regularly, are less prone to physical and mental disorders like cancer, depression, anxiety, etc.

In the second place, cultivation of rice has countless positive effects on our economy. A lot of youth work in rice farms and they can obtain money from this farms. I think the production of rice will reduce the rate of unemployment significantly. Furthermore, the export of rice to foreign countries has increased dramatically and based on the recent statistics, it will exceed the export of oil in 2020.

Last but not least, the root of rice plant has medicinal properties. Currently, researchers extract numerous components from root and stem of the rice, pure them and use them for making pills and capsules. These pills will be consumed by the patients who suffer from headaches or other ailments.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that rice is the most important plant to the people in my country. In my opinion, it is the healthiest food and can provide my country with a lot of job opportunities or other advantages which I outlined above.