Question: A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position

Considering the many pros and cons of a new factory in any community will elicit different feelings. Factories are widely thought to be ugly and unsanitary blights on a community. On the other hand, factories have been the lifeblood of many towns and cities. Overall if a factory were proposed for my community, I would feel obligated to support the construction because the positive effects outweigh the negative influences.

Initially looking at the negative aspects of a new factory in a community, the prospect seems bleak. Factories are notorious for pollutants, both to the surrounding air and water. Sometimes the pollutant is harmful to the atmosphere and sometimes it is an offensive smell, either way, it is unwanted in any community. Pollutants and the ugly architecture of factories create an industrial look that makes an area undesirable and drives down property values, which are often linked to schools and other community features. These reasons seem like enough justification for rejecting a factory proposal.

On the other hand, it’s important to recognize that many stereotypical images of factories are dated pictures of the coal burning factories of the Industrial Revolution. These are not the factories of modern times or the future. Many factories are now controlled by government regulations that limit the levels and types of pollutants a factory produces. Another benefit is that many companies want the best in shipping capabilities, which means that they will often construct new and improved roads throughout communities. Lastly and perhaps most importantly, a new factory produces jobs, which encourage more people to a community, thus generating more infrastructure and development.

Therefore, I would feel compelled to approve of a new factory in my community. Understanding our modern expectations for cleanliness, environmental awareness, and positive production, a modern factory would not be a pollution producer, but an opportunity producer. A factory would create a better community through higher employment rates, improved roads, and an improved economy. Those advantages would trickle into other parts of the community including schools, government projects, and small businesses. The more money a community generates, the more options and opportunities are associated as well. All of those are improvements I would need to encourage.

All in all, a comparison of the disadvantages and benefits to a new factory shows that the positive outcomes compensate for any possible negative influences. With regulations placed on modern factories, the economic benefits to the public are great. As a community member, I would be concerned with the job opportunities and improved lifestyles of all people in my area. The obvious choice would be to build a factory, knowing of the paybacks to all people.