Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays the concurrency obliges the companies to work faster and better. They have a great risk of losing market share if they do not do so, thus they assume risks during its operation in order to get things done. However, the safety of the workers is priority for me and I am against to work quickly and risk making mistakes.

Firstly, when operations are done on their own time and people make sure everything is right, the probability that something goes wrong is minimum. The employees have time to check the work and ask for advice if they have doubt on what action take. Knowing that they can count on the superiors for advice and that there is no hurry to finish the job, they work with a lower level of stress. This contributes to a better work environment and motivates the employees to work better.

Secondly, whether an employee gets hurt during the job operation, the company can face a major lawsuit from the government. The government can understand that as the company putting the profits as priority rather the employees’ life. It gets worst if the employees confirm that the company pressed them to assume risk-making mistakes. The public image of the company is affected as well, newspapers give attention and publish about accidents and depending on how it happened, and the community where the company is installed can run against it. Besides having to pay a fee in a probable lawsuit, the image of the company is harshly affected.

For these reasons, I believe that is more important to work slowly and make sure everything is correct than work quickly and risk making mistakes. The employees have a better professional environment because they know there is no hurry to get the work done. In addition, the companies avoid financial losses and a bad image to the community as the outcome of an accident and demonstrate to all stakeholders that the safety of the workers is the priority.