Schools Should Ask Students To Evaluate Their Teachers. Do You Agree or Disagree? Use Specific Reasons And Examples To Support Your Answer.

Teachers are definitely a role model for us during the school. Children like their teachers and try to imitate their manners, although there is a dark side too, which means that not all students are happy with their teachers and may rate them with low scores. As far as I’m concerned, evaluating the teachers’ performance is really vital and essential to make sure that they are doing great at their job, but it is important to know who is in charge of these evaluations. I believe that students are not in the position to rate their teacher and my reasons to why this is so are as below.

First of all, students are considered as learners who depend on their teachers’ knowledge and skills in different scientific subjects. well, it goes without saying that a young student is not qualified enough to judge her teacher’s knowledge. For example, I can remember when I was a kid and in my English class students tried to find a hard and rare word which our teacher didn’t know its meaning and then they were deciding that she was not so good at her job. The point is, students are not capable to see the bigger picture and give idea about their teachers' expertise. thus it will not be a good idea for teachers to get their skills evaluated by students.

Besides, during the school time, students’ personality is still under development and it could be said that they are not mature enough to judge and make decisions based upon the logic rather than emotion. Gazing a look around, we can easily see that how emotional children are and how much their feelings are involved in their judgments. This shows that children’s judgment is biased and cannot be reliable. Taking an angry student as an example, he might think that his teacher is a terrible person and even worst he cannot deliver the subjects well. This again shows that students cannot have enough control over their activities or thoughts.

Finally, students are in a critical ages and could be very impressed by the ideas of friends. So, they can shape their mind about a teacher based on their friends’ notion. It might lead to some unfair decisions here, no matter these result in a higher or lower evaluations of a teacher. The fact is, these judgments aren’t real.

All in all, it could be concluded that students are not able to make a fair and unbiased evaluation about their teachers and if we let them to score their teachers, this won’t be followed by beneficial consequences.