Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Upon the question should a city try to preserve its old buildings or replace them with modern buildings, different people have different opinions based on their cultures, educations, emotions, etc. From my point of view, each option has its unique advantages but I think the benefits of building modern places outweigh the benefits of protecting historic building. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, modern people need new buildings. They would like to go to cinema, park or restaurant on weekends. In my opinion, destroying historic buildings and replacing them with hyper malls, restaurants and hotels is a good idea because these modern places can attract a lot of tourists from all over the world. For example, last year, I traveled to Turkey with a group of students and we spent most of the time visiting malls and coffee shops instead of going to museums or historical places. Besides, foreign visitors will bring money to my country and it has positive effects on our economy.

In the second place, establishing new buildings will provide countless job opportunities. Currently, many people are looking for a good job so modern and new places like Movie Theaters, hotels or malls are ideal places for these people to work and serve the country. In my point of view, the rate of unemployment will decrease significantly, if government build huge complexes.

Finally, it is important to bear in mind that some historical places are important for the country because people can get more information about history and past events. They can broaden their knowledge about previous cultures by visiting these places.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account it can be concluded that historical buildings are ideal places because they enrich our information. But I find myself more inclined to this idea that government should destroy historic buildings and replace them with modern buildings because it has many advantages which I outlined above.