Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Give specific reasons and examples.

Sometimes people need to destroy old buildings and build new one. They could have some reasons such as earning money from new building or demanding to live in modern buildings. But they could not think that the old buildings have historical importance and it could be important some people like old family members. I think they think that they have an other option which the buildings is protected and restorated. In my writing I will explain two important reasons why people should keep the old buildings alive.

Firstly, the old and historic buildings reflect the city’s history. When foreign people come to city they examine the building’s structure and take information from this structure about city. For example, My spanish friends came to visit to me in Turkey and we took a tour. They took a lot of photograph the buildings which are old I noticed that they were fairly careful when they took a photograph. They wanted to take all details. When I asked them that why they were careful one of my friends answered to me they would use those photographs to determine my city’s characteristic. I had never heard that before that day.

Secondly the fact that, the old buildings are quite important for old people like my grandfather. They grew in that buildings and have a lot of memory about those buildings. For example, My grandfather told me that He remembered our building’s construction and almost sixty years ago it was built. I understand him and his feelings about our house. He said to me a lot of memory which experienced in our house. If I were him I would feel same with him. The old people’s request is important for me and so I think if it does not require the old buildings must not be destroyed.

To sum up, due to the historical significance and importance for old people, the old and historical buildings must be protected. People might need to modern buildings but they think these reasons and after that they have to decide about their buildings.