Should a city try to preserve old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

Old, historic buildings are an integral part of modern urban areas today. However, this brings up a controversial question: is it worth to keep these old-fashioned structures or to supplant them by new, modern ones. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that it is necessary to preserve them since there are several advantages to these precious, historic remains. There are three points in support of my view point that are discussed in the following passage.

Old buildings help people extend their knowledge. In fact, each historic building represents a specific period of history that shows the building materials and methods that were common in that specific era. Additionally, they all have characters which in turn reflects the character of their designers and the people who lived in them. Some of them are important in terms of architectural and aesthetical features. Therefore, all in all, they give us better understanding of the culture, lifestyle, and art of our ancestors.

Furthermore, they would result in better economic conditions. Old buildings attract more tourists. As a result, this leads to more job opportunities, flourished local and international businesses in our cities. As evidence shows, almost all touristic cities are among cities which possess a large number historic construction with a prosperous financial status. For instance, Rome is the most popular touristic cities around the world that enjoys numerous old, historic palaces and monuments

Finally, historic buildings contribute to more joy and excitement in cities. They are often desirable locations where annual ceremonies to be held in. They can also serve as places in which people usually gather for celebrating national achievements. For example, Sardar Amjad castle in Talesh is the place where Iranians frequently go to celebrate national Children’s day. There, all visitors are allowed to choose and wear their favorite costumes and take photos in funny gestures in old-fashioned scenes.

Overall, taking into account all these factors, I definitely assert that old buildings improve the general knowledge of communities, economic conditions and societies’ happiness. Thus, they seem like valuable treasures and it is a crime to destroy them.