Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

The quality of roads and highways is gradually degrading these days and there are chances that it may continue to become worse. The main reason for this is, lack of responsibility from the government’s side along with low funding. Hence, in my opinion government should invest more in improving roads and highways. I feel this way for two important reasons which will be explained further in the essay.

To begin with, the most tremendous impact of poor roads can be seen by the increase in the number of accidents. Threat to people’s life has increased drastically because of this. A recent example to this is the devastating accident that I witnessed a week back on the Mumbai expressway. Because of the heavy rains there were huge pot holes and a car got trapped in that and because of that it went upside down and banged the divider on the highway. Everyone inside the car was dead on spot. Hence, government should take steps towards this major problem.

Furthermore, if the roads and highways are not well maintained, there is no point investing on public transport. After all, they are also vehicles that need proper path to be driven on. Because of the poor condition of roads the amount of traffic jams has also increased by a great extent. This in turn leads to increase in noise pollution as people will keep honking until there way is cleared. Thus, the official bodies should make efforts to reduce this problem.

To put it briefly, government should not stop funding for public transport as this will also help in resolving the above problems to some extent. But, the ultimate solution to them is that government should start investing more funds in developing and maintaining proper roads and highways. This is mainly due to the two reasons explained above.