Should the university education be free? Give your reasons and examples?

I think the university education should not be free. It is an unfeasible idea, and could cause negative consequences for the education system. Students go to university and they have to pay for what they learn at university.

Firstly, I believe that almost all universities need financial resources to operate effectively. Without the tuition fees, a university cannot pay its considerable costs, such as: operating costs, administration costs, or labor costs. Therefore, it may lead to reductions in the budgets for teaching and research programs. For example: the teachers salaries may be reduced, which would make teachers not devote entirely themselves to teaching and research work.

Secondly, it is regarded as normal for students to pay a fair price for the knowledge they acquire at a university. The students are like customers who buy products from the university, and they always hope to be received quality products from the university. In this relationship, the tuition fees as the price of courses will correspond with the quality of the university, as the saying goes "you get what you pay for". For example: Tuition fees at the world's top universities such as Harvard, MIT are always exorbitant, but they still attract a number of applicants each year thanks to their high reputations for academic excellence.

Thirdly, the university education should not be free because it is always accessible to needy students. They can apply for various kinds of education loans and scholarships to cover their fees and expenses. Moreover, they could take the initiative to look for part-time jobs after school to make money. Therefore, needy students will able to overcome their financial problems as long as they are full of determination to achieve their university dreams.

In conclusion, I believe that the idea of free universities is rather theoretical and could not become a reality. In university education, we should focus on how to increase its quality rather than provide it for free.