Should your government place a tax on the junk food and fatty snacks?

My position is the government should place a tax on any food, drink, or thing that can threaten people's welfare, though some people believe the food must be exempt of tax. There are a lot of people who may not be aware of the side effects of junk food, fatty snacks, and similar things. Also, these foods may be very cheaper than the healthy food without the tax. In my view, the most important role of any government is to provide the well-being of its people by improving the awareness of the junk food and motivating people to use the healthy ones as well as conducting some researches in order to realizing side effects.

Awareness is the first purpose of the getting tax. What is the nutrition fact? Do people know about that? In all country it is mandatory that every food must have its verified nutrition fact. For example, in my country, although the government has obliged all producers to annex verified nutrition facts on all kinds of food, the producer of harmful food must write some sentences like this food cannot consider as the daily food. Furthermore, my government shows a lot of TV and Radio programs about healthy food and motivates them to amend their eating habit.

The junk food and fatty snacks can produce some side effects on people in the long term. In other words, they cause some illness that can use some public money to be cured. Adding tax to these foods can empower the government to conduct some enlightening researches about the side effects of food. For instance, there are a lot of researches that prove fast food is not adequate, and people usually should get rid of them. Therefore, we can see the famous company like McDonald has lost its customers according to some reports published in the USA's magazines.

In my point of view, the government should place a tax on junk food and similar things because the government will be able to aware people about the side effects and conduct some enlightening researches for having the good eating habit.