Since the society is developing fast, do you agree that people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people in the past?

From the dawn of time, mankind is all about pursuing the happiness. Nowadays, due to technology improvement, society is developing fast and this would affect every facet of people’s life from all walks of life. The question that may arise here is the influence of this phenomenon in people’s happiness. In accordance to above mentioned facts, regarding my personal perspective, I presume that, society development has an adverse influence on people’s sense of happiness. Among the most predominant reasons in support of this contention increasing rate of loneliness in new generations, and growing inherent greed, could be picked out for further analysis.

To commence with, a consensus has yet to be reached; however, regarding the increasing rate of loneliness in developed countries, based upon the statistics of different general questionnaires in various countries, people are in the conviction that since things around them accelerate so fast, there is less amount of time to catch up with friends and bonding with new people. To elucidate on, it is a common knowledge that in many cases human definition of happiness contains of being with beloved ones, and since growing modern life would not allow that, consequently, people feel depressed. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above. According to the result of a research conducted in psychology department of Harvard University, nowadays, people spend more time in work than being out with friends.

In addition to reason raise above, the direct effect of greediness on postponing one’s happiness could also substantiate the justifiability of the claim made at the outset of this essay. In conjunction with public belief, before urbanization since there was a finite ways to prosper and people did not get use to seeing successful idols surrounding them, they feel less sad about their life conditions. To put it in other words, nowadays, even if people prosper in life, they always demand more; owing to growing sense of greed in modern life. In order not to overgeneralize what was alluded to, some enlightened minds could assert that social development makes life easier for human being; however, in my opinion its trivial benefits can be overlooked by its indispensable disadvantages.

Drawing upon the reasons, although many sophisticated people may prove it otherwise, as far as my personal perspective to the topic concerned, I reiterate that, developing society is begin to make human’s life miserable and many aspect of it should be modified. To recapitulate, not only would this kind of development provide a sad, lonely generation, but it also grows the hideous sense of greediness that would annihilate person’s life.