Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Nowadays, almost everyone go to university for a degree. Having a degree has an important role in managing to find a job. Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes; others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Even though a lot of people believe that going to classes should be optional for students because students have more time to work and gain experiences; I completely believe that students should be required to attend classes for two important reasons that are discussed in the following paragraphs.

The main reason is that students can learn some skills. Some skills such as presentation skill, doing research, and how to do research are not learnt without going to classes. For example, in my university, one of my courses, compiler lab course, was optional for students to attend class. Because in that semester I had worked in a company, that produces software for factories, I did not attend in that course. The teacher determined a presentation for the students, and also he taught them how they can have a good presentation. Since I did not attend in that course I did not learn how I present in front of a lot of audience. As you can see, if I attended the class, I would able to present a good speech.

Another reason is that students can ask teacher right away. It is very obvious that if students attend classes, if they have a problem they can ask the teacher right away. For example, when I was a student, studying Artificial Intelligence which defines as systems that can act like a human and are able to learn, I had a course which is called Image Processing Lab course, I always attend the class and as soon as I had a problem, I asked the teacher right away. At the end of term I was very convenient with this course but my friend, Mahdi, who did not go to the classes, had a lot of problem during the week exam, and he had to ask me to help him with his question. Finally, I get a good score but my friend failed the exam. In that semester I graduated but my friend had to enroll for the next semester because of the lab course. This experience taught him that always attends all classes.

In sum, I definitely agree with the idea that students should be required attend classes. Not only can they learn some skills but they also can ask the teacher right away. Universities should force students to attend all of their classes.