Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe
that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use
specific reasons and details to explain your answer.
As online technology develops and ideas about learning change, there are many different opinions
about whether it should still be mandatory for students to attend classes. I am of the opinion that it
remains important for students to physically attend their classes. I will explore why I feel this way in the
following essay.
To begin with, being physically present in a class makes it more likely that a student will participate
in conversation and debate, which will help him following his graduation. A university education is not
just about writing essays and getting grades, but rather it is about spending time in a stimulating academic
environment. It is very important for students to share their opinions with others both inside and out of the
lecture hall, and even to engage in healthy debate with their professors. Exchanges of this type shape
young minds, and students who miss out on them do not get as much from their degree program as they
ought to. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I learned an enormous amount about
effective communication by participating in classroom discussions as an undergraduate. Moreover,
classroom discussion showed me how to support my opinions with facts, and also how to remain polite
when talking with others. My finely honed communication skills were very useful when it came time for
me to find professional employment
Furthermore, attending classes helps students to network with like-minded people, which also makes
it easier to find jobs following their graduation. As I said above, students are likely to talk to their
classmates during lectures. This not only helps them to become effective communicators, but also assists
them in forming relationships and friendships with their peers. Again, my experience demonstrates the
value of this. Following my graduation, I was able to get recommendations and referrals from classmates
who had already been hired by prestigious firms. My insider connections were critical when it came to
landing job interviews and eventual employment. Had I not developed close relationships with my peers I
would not have had this valuable resource.
In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is still very important for students to attend classes. This is
because doing so helps them to perfect their communication skills, and because the opportunities for
networking that it provides are extremely valuable.