Some people prefer to eat a large lunch, and then eat less food in the evening. Others prefer to eat more at dinner. Which do you prefer, and why?

The question about how much food we should eat each time has been bugging dietitians and common people nowadays. Some people eat more at lunch and less in the evening, while others prefer to eat more at dinner. I prefer to eat a large lunch than a large dinner for several reasons.

First, having a bigger lunch portion means that we have sufficient nutrition for our body and brain to function well. In the middle of the day, our body usually starts to get tired after exertion caused by our morning activities which may involve working, studying, or exercising. Therefore, the body starts to demand more nutrition. By having bigger portion of lunch, we prepare our body to perform more activites between afternoon and evening. Replenishment of nutrients inside the body enables us to be productive during that time.

Second, I eat more at lunch than dinner because our afternoon activities, as we tend to be more active during this time, burn more calories than evening activities. For example, people work, commute, and shop during afternoon. On the other hand, people sleep at night. Eating more at night means that your calories intake will exceed the level needed by your body. As a result, it will increase body mass and accumulate fat in certain areas. Therefore, it will make you more likely to get sick.

While I prefer to have bigger lunch instead of bigger dinner, I also understand that many people don't always think this is the case. Some people work the night shift. Working the night shift means that those people are active during the night and therefore, they will need to eat more calories at dinner time. Other people, such as students, usually study until late at night. Without adequate intake of food, those students will not be able to function properly.

In conclusion, I still hold that for general people who are active during the day, eating a large lunch is better than eating a large dinner for the reasons I stated above. But it is not always the case because some people can have more activities at night.