Some people prefer to live in places where the weather changes throughout the year, while other prefer to live in areas with stable temperatures. Which do you prefer, and why?

When I was a child, I often asked my mother when Christmas would arrive with snow. As someone who grew up in the tropics, such as Singapore and Indonesia, all we see is stable temperatures every day. Other people live with four seasonal changes every year. Because I grew up in the tropical areas, I prefer living in places with similar climate.

First, living in the places with stable temperatures give you routine lifestyle. For example, the night begins almost at the same time every day. Because of that, your can expect to do your daily routines to stay the same every day. You don’t need to worry about whether the sky turns pitch black in the evening, or about getting up earlier to match the daylight saving time. You can experience your daily activities without being anxious about the weather.

Second, more seasonal changes mean more expenses. Living with the steady temperatures requires you to wear normal clothes each time. Imagine if you live in places like Europe or North America, you need to wear less clothing for summer and you need to wear more clothing for winter. When I stayed in London for a student exchange program for several months, I experienced harsh winter there. I allocated my winter budget for coats without realizing that I needed special boots to wear for winter. Some nights I had to take taxis to get back home because the weather was just too cold to walk. For those extra expenditures, I ended up borrowing some cash from a friend. Hence, having to own different types of clothing due to weather changes is significantly more expensive compared to having to own just normal clothing for all year.

However, I realized that living in four-season countries has some advantages as well. For instance, seeing falling reddish-brown leaves is a nice change from summer that you have just experienced. Watching flowers and plants grow inspires our mind after having a cold dark winter.

In summary, I living in areas where the temperatures are steady is better because of the stability in temperatures and less expenditures. But it is not all the way better because living in the countries with more weather patterns can also inspire you.