Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big

city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and

details to support your answer.

Small Town or Big City

Choosing to live in between a small town and a big city is a bit difficult. Both of them have their own advantages and disadvantages. I would prefer to live in a small town only if it meets certain conditions.

First, a small town would be serene without any disturbances. For instance, a big city would be overcrowded with people, flooded with traffic, surrounded by buildings, etc. A small town would be less populated as compared to a big city. Also, a small town would generally be surrounded by green fields, small mountains/hills, lakes and rivers, etc. A small town is even devoid of pollution, whereas big cities are polluted by vehicles and industries. Hence, living in a small town would be a lot more peaceful compared to living in a big city.

Second, I often find people living in a small town to be more gregarious compared to people living in a big city. In general, people in big cities are busy with their schedules and don’t even have time for socialising with other people. In a big city a person wouldn’t even be recognised by the people living in his own street, whereas in a small city, people spend a lot of time with each other and care for each other. They even celebrate their festivals together. This affection from people living around is something that attracts me to live in a small town.

As I said before, there are also some disadvantages of living in a small town. A small town might not be well developed and sometimes it might not have all the facilities that a person is looking for. For instance, one could rarely find a hospital with sophisticated facilities in a small town. Also, most of the work places or educational institutions would be located in a big city. One might have to travel a long distance everyday to go to work or schools. These can be the disadvantages of living in a small town.

To conclude, a small town would be peaceful, less polluted and comprised of affectionate people. But, it might not meet all the requirements that a person needs. Hence, I would prefer to live in a small town only if it is near to my and my family members’ work place and has some minimum facilities.