Some people prefer to work for themselves or own a business. Others prefer to work for an employer. Would you rather be self employed, work for someone else, or own a business? Use specific reasons to explain your choice

Work for an employer or own a business (pref)

Throughout the history of mankind, and consequently in the modern society, people have had to work to earn a living, or for some other reasons. However, the dilemma is whether to work for an employer or to own self business. It goes without mentioning that different people with discrepancies in backgrounds, insights, and levels of education might hold miscellaneous perspectives in this regard. In spite of the fact that a concrete argument can be made to advocate working for someone else, I, on the contrary, have determinate, sufficient reasons to prefer standing by the other view point and support owning a business. My body of reasons and examples are rendered as follows.

Considering the realm of the context, the first advantage that conjures up is about independency. In my point of view, having independency on making decisions about work problems can be considered as a boon, as the feeling on shaping the own future has always been appreciated by me. When the most important decisions which will affect the outcome of the work in a significant manner, are not yours to make, there might not be any joy in the successful results, as you have not contributed to choosing the path which has led to triumph. For example, how can an employee feel good about a considerable increase in the revenue of a large company, when he or she has not played a major role in achieving it? Therefore, I believe, independency is a factor which makes you feel a lot more conducive in procurement of accomplishment; thus, it can be deemed as a real privilege.

Secondly, when a person owns the business, obviously, there is more responsibility associated with the job, a situation which I deeply admire and have always praised. The point is, more responsibility will lead to more dedication and commitment to work, and apparently will bring the best out of the person, thus, the outcome can be expected to be more consummate. For instance postulate a person who is employed in a company, in this situation he is not responsible for the success of it, and would not probably do his best , just a mild attitude towards the job is expected depending on the level of the paycheck he is paid. But, on the other hand, if the same person owns the company, all he thinks about is the success of the company, due to the fact that more success is equal to more income. Therefore, the responsibility factor has an impact as well.

Last but not least, owning a business is more interesting and challenging than being employed. Contriving new strategies and solution pertinent to unexpected situations can be fascinating as well as being laborious and grueling.

Admittedly, owning a business can also represents its own drawbacks, more responsibility can be considered as a burden as well, stresses and pressures imposed by everyday work, and depending of the income on the success of the business are all some disadvantages at some extents. While, on the contrary, an employee is not encountered with these mentioned problem and will have his or her routine schedule.

With all the above being claimed, and when contemplating over all influential factors, I am left to draw one single conclusion. In the case of owning a business advantages like more independency, more possible income, and being more challenging are all reasons to make pros carry more weight over cons. Therefore, I prefer to have my own business rather than being employed and work for someone else.