Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

There are myriad ways people can go travelling and each provides various benefits. Personally, I prefer travelling with my family or with my friends over visiting some place alone. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in my subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, by going on a trip with a companion, you would go to places that you wouldn’t have gone if you were by yourself. In addition, you will be able to explore new fields that you’ve never imagined and that stimuli might spark interest after you experience something new. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I went to visit Kyoto with my friend, I wanted to see Kyoto’s urban cities but my friend wanted to visit temples. Although I didn’t have interest in cultural aspects, since it was my friend’s desire to visit temples, we decided to go to both places. As a result, after I examined the architecture and learned about Kyoto’s histories in shrines, I got drawn into shrines. This fresh and stimulative experience led me to study about Japanese architecture in my high school selective course. If it wasn’t for my friend’s suggestion, I wouldn’t have decided to focus on architecture and anthropology.

Secondly, when going abroad or to any place that you are not familiar with, it would be more safe and comfortable if you had someone close on your trip. For instance, there might be technical issues with your phone, you might get sick, and other unexpected troubles might arise that are hard to overcome if you are solitary. Drawing from my experience, about a year ago, when I visited Melbourne for the first time with my friends, I catched a cold. My friends supported me at the hotel by calling the tour guide, asking the hotel staff, and buying me medines at the local supermarket. If it weren’t for my friends, I would have been stuck in bed, struggling to obtain contacts and resources to relieve my fever.

In conclusion, I firmly argue that travelling with a companion is better than travelling alone. This is because you might evoke interest in an area you’ve never thought of from visiting an unfamiliar place, and because you would be able to deal with difficult situations more patiently and smoothly by having someone trustworthy and reliable.