Some people trust their first impressions about a person's character because they believe these judgments are generally correct. Other people do not judge a person's character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong. Compare these two attitudes. Which attitude do you agree with? Support your choice with specific examples.

In today’s world, people tend to be in contact with each other less than the past. This phenomenon is due to the new improvements and new technologies. Thus, discerning others character is becoming a significant issue. Even though some people trust their first impression about person’s traits, but, in my view, it is not a perfect idea to judge a person immediately. There are two main reasons why I feel this way, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, there is always a chance that people’s first treatments are fake. There is a huge diversity of people in the world, so you should not necessarily be sure about a person’s honesty when meet him or her for the first time. Research on sociology, which was done by University of Western Ontario on June 5, 2003, as a case in point, reveals that 89 percent of people in Toronto are kind of a different person when they encounter with their date, for the first time. What’s more, I used to date a girl, which was a lawyer, and I was passionate about her, because she seemed to be nice person. But, after a while, I figured out that I was wrong. Consequently, people’s first behaviors may not be always true.

Secondly, there is a possibility of having mistake in our judgment about someone when we see him or her for the first time. My older brother, John, who is 29 years old now, and suffering from his wife’s high level of anger, is always telling me that he is not satisfied of his life, and if he had a possibility to come back and change this status, he would definitely choose his wife carefully this time, and not by merely her first treatments.

Although some other sociologists are approved of this kind of judgments, and assert that they are usually true, but, taking into account all the factors mentioned, it is better not to judge people by your first impression about them. And I, personally, as sociology student, agree with the latter point of view.