Some students apply for admission only to their first choice school, while others apply to several schools. Which plan do you agree with, and why? Be sure to include details and examples to support your opinion.

Although there may be some merits in applying for just one university, i think advantages associated with applying for various schools are far greater.

At first, there is always a possibility of failure in almost every procedure and applying for school admission is not an exception. So, if the application process failed because of any reason, it would be on detriment of the students who have applied for only one school. Hence, it's reasonable to be on the safe side and apply for at least two or three of them. Jarek, a friend of mine is an obvious example of this mistake; he boasted in his abilities a lot and applied just for MIT while he was sure he would be accepted by the university. However, after the application deadline he realized the university hasn't received his documents yet, so he missed his opportunity.

In addition, as the famous British proverb says, "don't put all eggs in just one basket" the students who apply for different schools not only have a better chance of admission, but also they can make their choice between a range of schools they have been admmited in. Moreover, they can put off their decision to a later time and this fact can be really advantagous. An example of this is my little brother, Jimmy, who had applied for six different universities in Europe and his first choice was a university in Ukraine. Three months later the admmision results was revealed and he was admited by three universities in Germany, UK, and of course Ukraine. In that time there was a war had started in Ukraine recently and fortunately he still has two other choices to make.

Considering these reasons it is easy to figure it out why i'm in favor of applying for several universities instead of just one.