Some think that all entertainment TV programmes should educate people about the importance of social issues To what extent do you agree or disagree

In contemporary society, critical social issues have been in the limelight and triggered a heated discussion on the importance of educating the public about them. Some people propose that every TV entertainment show with high ratings ought to target audiences to learn about social concerns. However, I cannot consent to this proposal. In my view, not all TV entertainment shows require making this transformation.

Admittedly, it is necessary to improve the public’s awareness of ongoing social issues. TV entertainment programmes, especially the popular ones can attract a considerably large number of audiences. Accordingly, it seems reasonable to alter the programmes from being entertaining to educational with a focus on social problems.

However, my main reason for objection to this suggestion is that there are better ways to help promote awareness and educate people on social problems rather than TV entertainment programmes. Currently, the new social media such as Twitter, Youtube and facebook, deriving from the internet industry supersede traditional TV as efficient educational tools. It is not uncommon that people get to know the news earlier and easier from social media via their portable cell phones than from TV. Of course, the easier and faster the tools people use, the better the attention there will be.

Meanwhile, TV shows should be full of variety satisfying audiences’ diverse needs, instead of only for education on certain topics. Other contents such as comedy shows and dramas are also essential elements and well-needed for viewers. After working hard for a whole day, audiences might be only interested in watching some funny reality shows to relax or love movies to enjoy. It is very likely to lose some audiences who feel overwhelmed by upsetting social problems presented in all TV programmes, which may result in poor attraction from the public.

In sum, based on all the above reasons, we can draw the simple conclusion that it is unnecessary to turn all entertainment TV programmes into social issue-focused shows. Because there are more efficient ways to attract and educate people to bring awareness, and it is also critical for TV shows to retain other contents for entertaining purposes.