Some university professors let their students choose their research topics themselves. Some do not. Which one do you thinks is better. Why?

The answer to the question that how students choose their project can be varied from person to person. In my opinion, allowing students to choose their research topic is more beneficil. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, being interested in something enables students to put their all efforts into practice. In fact, if they choose their project topic based on their interests, they can keep their incentive to do a project well, and try hard to reach the pinnacle of the project. Therefore, in order to do research effectively and efficiently, professors let students opt their research topic by themselves. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better. When I wanted to apply for a university abroad, I sent an email to a professor of Western Australia University, then, I received a response from him including you should send me a research topic based on your interests. Also, he told me that being interested in something provides an opportunity for you to do the project without any difficulties. For this reason, I strongly believe that student can be successful if they choose their research topic.

Second, allowing students to opt their research topic teach them to be responsible. As a matter of fact, they learn to evaluate all positive and negative aspect of each decision before making them. Moreover, it gives them a chance to speak with people who experienced the same situation. for this reason, it develops their skills in order to take a responsibility for something and ensures that they can be successful in their future. For example, when I was an undergraduate student, I had a part-time job at university campus magazine as a reporter. As I remember, one time, I interviewed professor Nejtai, who is a well-known psychologist in my country, about the effects of making important decisions of students such as choosing research topic on their performance. He told me that a high percentage of students who choose their project by themselves are successful in their future because they learn to take a responsibility for their decision. As a result, the more students opt their research topic, the more they will be prosperous in their lives.

In conclusion. no one can deny the enormous effects of choosing the project topic by students. Not only do they continue their education in the field which they are interested in, but also they learn how to be responsible.