Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It goes without saying that our families play an important role in our lives so many young adults would rather live with their family for a longer time. However, others people think that it would be a better idea for children to be independent of their parents as soon as they can. I am of the latter opinion. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, by becoming independent, children would learn and prepare better to live alone in the future. No matter how old we are, we all have to move out of our parents’ house sooner or later to go to the university or to start to own families. Consequently, we must acquire all the skills needed to live on our own. There is no better way to do that than to be independent since we were young. My own experience is a good example to illustrate this. Ever since I was a kid, I had the dream of studying abroad and I remember being told that it wasn’t easy to get used to living alone in the university’s campus. As the result, when I was ten years old, I started to learn to become more self-reliant. I was taught the fundamental skills such as cooking meals or doing the laundry. Because of that, I didn’t have a hard time familiarizing myself with the life in university which many of my friends had.

Furthermore, if we really love our parents, we ought not to always bother them and not to rely on them too much, instead, we should learn to be independent of them . Unfortunately, parents are getting older day by day. Their aging results in continual tiredness and occasional sickness. Make them take care of us only cause them to be more stressful and tired. Therefore, we should let them have time to relax and enjoy their lives by being independent of them. For example, my parents, who are aging, tend to be tired now and then so I don’t want them to worry about me too much. Since I went studying abroad and lead an independent life of my parents, they have had more time together and for relaxation because my dad doesn’t have to take me to school every day do and my mom doesn’t need to tidy my room every morning like they used to do. Without me at home, they are able to go on vacations more often and they won’t ever be stressed out because of worrying about me since they know that I can live on my own.

In conclusion, I truly believe that a young adult should live independently of their parents. Independence would teach children to be well-prepared to live alone. In addition, children shouldn’t bother parents too much so that they can enjoy their lives.