Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

In many European countries, adolescent move out from their parents’ home in order to be independent, whereas in many Asian and South American countries young adults prefer to stay longer time with their families. Thus, there is no shortage of debate about whether it is better to move out rapidly from their parents or to stay with their families. In my opinion, for an adolescent, it is more advantageous to reside with their families for longer time. I feel this way for two main reason, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, as a young adult, one can save more money by living at home. Adolescent does not typically have a regular income to pay an apartment and enjoyable lifestyle, and on the other side to save money. This is especially true for students and apprentices. My own experience is a compelling example for this. During the period of study, I worked as librarian for a minimum wage at the university. It was the right amount of money to enjoy your life and to save money for the future. However, it was not enough to pay an own apartment and thus I was happy to stay with my family throughout the course of my study. For this reason, staying with the family for a greater time will save a lot of money.

Secondly, an adolescent is mostly not mature enough to take important decisions and for the responsibilities of adulthood. But many people would say that by making mistakes, one will learn faster to adapt to the adult life. However, some of these bad decisions could have a long-lasting effect. For instance, during my young adulthood, I was nearly ready to join the German army. I was not only fascinated by the imagination of myself in the uniform of a soldier, but also of fighting against the "bad" people around the world. In retrospect, I can say that I was not mature enough to take an important decision, such as this, and thus I am very thankful that my family helped me to open my eyes. If I had lived on my own, I am sure that I would joined the German army and this would be certainly the worst decision in my life. Accordingly, I think staying with your family as an adolescent for a longer time will prevent you from taking bad decision. Moreover, it will allow you to mature in a secured environment.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is better for young adults to stay with their family for a longer period. This is because, youngster will save a lot of money and they will mature in a secured environment which will prevent them in taking bad decisions and making mistakes.