Specialize in one field or gain knowledge in different subjects.

People have different opinions whether they should have broad knowledge in different subjects or to specialize in a specific subject. In my opinion, it is better to specialize in one field rather than gaining knowledge about many discipline. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, We all agree that one of the main goals to seek knowledge is to find a job with a good salary, and people who are experts in a specific field can find job opportunities easier than those who have knowledge in different area. Specialization will not only enable the person to find a job easily but also provide him with a high salary that will let him enjoying his life. When we talk about job we should consider that most companies are specialized in specific area or fields. To demonstrate this point, consider an IT companies, There are no one IT company that focus on both programming and networking at the same time. So, what benefits can person get by gaining solid and deep knowledge in both fields, programming and knowledge?. Since he will work only in one field. Computer engineers fresh graduates are a good example since they have a knowledge in different areas of computer including programming, hardware architecture and networking. But after graduation they are struggling finding jobs because they fail to answer questions that is related to only one specific fields in job interviews.

Secondly, I read a study that states that people who are focusing on one field are more successful than those who seek knowledge on different fields. The study argues that human mind and memory are prepared to understand and memorize information that is related to one subjects. On the other hand, the performance of the mind is lower than expected when it comes to learning about different subjects. My life is an example of this. In the first year at the university, I struggled a lot while studying courses, because some of these courses were related to math, while others related to computer hardware. after become a senior student. All courses were related to computer. As a result, I was more comfortable studying these course and I got higher marks.

To sum up, I endorse the idea that specialization in one subject is better than having knowledge about different subjects. this because specialization make it easy to find job opportunity with high salary, and because human mind compatibility of specialization is more than it is communicability with diversity of fields.