Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples

The answer to this question can be varied from person to person. In my opinion, the benefits of volunteering work clearly outweigh taking a course. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, students are bombarded with a lot of theoretical knowledge and different information at school, and being a volunteer enables them to expand their horizon and promote their personal skills. In fact, if they do not put their knowledge into practice, they cannot apply them in the real world. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better. When I was an undergraduate student, I wanted to be a volunteer in a high school, since my major was related to teaching system. Subsequently, I moved to the countryside and became a teacher at a high school. It helped me to touch the real world and understand what is important in order to become a teacher. For this reason, it is really worth for students to experience something by volunteering work.

Secondly, students who are volunteer are able to contribute to their city and town positively by helping people. Some poor students could not afford to enroll in a great school; therefore, they need to be helped by these students in order to increase their knowledge and receive a better education. Because most of the poor students have to work besides education, it can be an enormous contribution to them. For example, when I was a graduate student, I had a part-time job at university campus magazine as a reporter. As I remember, one time, I interviewed professor Nejati, who is a well-known psychologist in our country, about the effects of students' role in the future of society. He told me that a high percentage of poor people are assisted by volunteer students are the one who could continue their study and became a prosperous person. As a result, the more students help cities and towns by their volunteers work, the more cities and town can be better placed to live.

In conclusion, no one can deny the enormous effects of volunteer work on the society. Not only are they able to improve their personal skills, but also they can make better city and town to live.