Is studying science more important than studying literature?

I have always considered that general knowledge is the best choice for me and universal learning the perfect means to support the phrase "knowledge for the sake of knowledge itself". But if I have to choose between the above-mentioned subjects I would definately concentrate on art and literature which I consider fit better my personality.

Art and literature have a lot in common in that they require a different,quite often universal approach to the world around us. They concenterate not so much on the black and white aspects of living but on the colourful side of life; on tints rather than brightness. Maths and science study the form, the physical shape and its laws, but it is art and literature that fulfill this form with that ultimate meaning that only the human soul can sense.

And it is the human soul that has so many faces, so many aspects and interpretations to all things.That is why I appreciate the subjectivity of art and literature-the numerous realities they impose are closer to our inner world than the strict powers that rule that of science. One is free to tolerate, to critisize, to accept the form of art but not obey them.

It is believed that Order came from Chaos.And if we can associate science and maths with Order it sounds logical to claim that Chaos has a lot to do with art and literature.The well of our unconscious brings forward the strangest powers and they show more of the universe than maths and science do. For Chaos is the beginning of life.

Having in mind the above, I definately support art and literature as a better means for achieving universal knowledge. What is more, while maths and science closely deal with laws, they cannot in any way teach us about that "thin red line" separating bad and evil, while art and literature I strongly believe can.