teachers should be paid as much as doctors, lawyers or businessmen.

A high salary represents this line of work is being recognized and appreciated. It has been argued that teachers deserve to be paid as well as doctors, lawyers and businessmen. I think this is not such a bad idea.

First, a decent paycheck would enhance teachers’ motivation. They have to spend hours checking books, studying material and doing research before class to get fully prepared. And right after class there will be questions to be answered and papers to be graded, all of which takes great patience and persistence. Naturally, some may argue that such effort does not equal to that of life-saving duties in the ER or evidence-citing moments in the courtroom. But let’s look at this issue more closely, education is just equally, if not more, important than other fields. Can you imagine how our children will turn out to be if they are being guided by people who don’t take pride in what they do or who think their job is less respectable? Not only can good teachers impart knowledge, but they also pass on important values to the next generation. Who can deny the value of an educator who tries to help a juvenile delinquent get back on track? And who can make light of a teacher who manages to inspire an introvert who shows promise in painting to pursue arts? But it cannot be possible without giving these educators due respect and credit. Only when they are held in high regard will they start to show a better performance at work.

Additionally, this policy can help produce a more educated and competent workforce. When teachers receive a salary as much as lawyers and doctors, it sends a positive message to talents who have excelled in all walks of life. In the past, such talented elites would go for more profitable jobs; but the salary-raising policy would offer them an incentive to take teaching as their profession. In this case, students would learn from the best. A student who has his heart set on becoming a lawyer would be thrilled to find that he can learn from someone who had previously made partner in a law firm. And for a young man majoring in medicine, there’s no better choice than to have an experienced doctor coach him. Jobs in such highly specialized areas like aerospace engineering, finance and IT all require extensive knowledge and proper guidance from a mentor. Without leading experts as teachers, schools have no hope of ever cultivating a competent labor pool.

All in all, teachers deserve equally high salaries as their counterparts in other fields like business or medicine, for the benefits of their own self-esteem and the educated workforce they can bring to the society.