Teachers should encourage theirs students to question everything.

Nowadays students have access to many sources to study outside school. They can deepen on internet what they are going to study and be more prepared for classes, for example. However, I do not agree that teachers should encourage students to question everything they see or that they are going to study.

Firstly, the amount of subjects and sources available on internet is immense. As internet is world widely accessible, it is easy to someone upload or post something personal about any subject. One text posted in favor of a specific issue, a war for example, is just a personal opinion. Students do not need try to change the writer’s point of view if they disagree.

Secondly, questioning everything can be a waste of time for students. Instead of spending time researching on things that matters, they will be discussing on subjects that are not related to their field of study. They will not deepen on their own subject and later may have trouble finishing it. For example, when in college I had a friend who had to deliver a research about thermodynamic in a specific date. This friend was not focused on this work and kept working with another professor, about another subject. He asked everything to this professor and learned a lot, but it was not related to thermodynamic. When the delivery date arrived, he asked the professor for more time, but when the professor found out that he was working on another project on things that did not matter, he did not accept and graded the student with a zero. Had he focused on the first one he would have finished it on time.

For these reasons, I believe that teachers should not encourage students to question everything. The amount of information available is immense and they can lose focus if question everything. Also, they can waste precious time that can affect their grades if not properly used.