The teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom

Since the down of civilization, teacher has played significant role in the societies, and in the educating younger generations. They always have great influence on their pupils. However, a controversial question which is often raised regarding their role, is related to the social and political views of teacher. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that teachers must declare their perspectives and opinions for their students while others look at this debate through a different lens, and believe that it is not a proper behavior. Personally, I am more in agreement with the former group. In the following paragraphs, some conspicuous reasons will cogently substantiate my perspective.

The first noteworthy point regarding this issue is the responsibility of the teachers to bring up students who have the ability to think for themselves. They must teach their students to be independent. Students are usually looking up to their teachers and try to mimic them. If the teacher speaks about his opinion, his students will think that this opinion is the proper one. They will not try to make a decision for themselves, something that goes against the teachers’ guidelines. For instance, imagine that you are trying to decide about the best way to participate in civil practices. Then, you hear in the class that your teacher says in his opinion, the best way is to help in animal shelters. Here, you will think that he is right. It is the best option. However, now you have a problem. You are not thinking for yourself.

In addition to what was mentioned above, as recent studies have revealed, almost all of the children think that their teacher is never wrong. In fact, a study which was conducted in Denmark on more than 1000 elementary students, revealed that roughly 95 percent of this students believe that their teachers always are right. Now if the teacher speaks about his beliefs in front of his students, these children will think that his ideas are the correct ones, and they will follow them; even if the teacher is wrong.

To make a long story short, all the aforementioned reasons lead to the conclusion that it is better that teachers do not speak about their views in the classrooms. However, that was a story in nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and example, regarding the claim, which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that a survey be conducted to find out exact factors involved in this issue.